Sun, 01 Nov 2020

Cricket South Africa (CSA) revealed that a 21-player national women's camp has assembled at Senwes Park in Potchefstroom on Monday.

According to the press release, the players will be through their paces as they work their way back to fitness and match sharpness following the lengthy layoff due to the pandemic.

The Proteas women were scheduled to tour England in September but was cancelled due to South Africa's travel regulations.

Missing from this camp are the Proteas who will compete at this year's Women's Big Bash League, namely Dane van Niekerk, Shabnim Ismail, Marizanne Kapp, Laura Wolvaardt, Nadine de Klerk, Lizelle Lee, Mignon du Preez and Chloe Tryon.

READ | Women's Big Bash League: 8 Proteas stars to set Australia alight

The eight Proteas women's stars are expected to depart for Australia on Thursday as the Women's Big Bash League kicks-off on 17 October.

Proteas women's coach Hilton Moreeng insisted that he wants to leave no stone unturned in their preparations.

"The camp is always a great opportunity to take stock of where everyone is at following the lengthy break due the pandemic and to really plot our development for an important international season ahead," said Moreeng.

"We'll be looking to test out the players physical readiness, mentally and really set a standard ahead of what will be expected of them at international level and also to assist the younger players by integrating them with the more experienced players.

"We have since assembled a strong backroom staff in the form of a new assistant coach (Dillon du Preez) with a dedicated skill of looking after the bowlers and also really excited to have Zane Webster as the strength conditioning lead. The support around the team has never been better and we are resolute to make the most of it."

The 21-player squad will be based in Potchefstroom until Friday.

National Women's Camp squad:

Masabata Klaas (North West), Tazmin Brits (North West), Anneke Bosch, (North West), Ayabonga Khaka (Gauteng), Robyn Searle (Northerns), Trisha Chetty (KZN - Dolphins), Raisibe Ntozekhe (Gauteng), Sinalo Jafta (WP ), Lara Goodall (WP), Andrie Steyn (WP), Faye Tunnicliffe (WP), Tumi Sekhukhune (North West), Sune Luus (Northerns), Nondumiso Shangase (KZN - Dolphins), Nonkululeko Mlaba (KZN -Dolphins), Micheala Andrews (SWD), Delmi Tucker (WP), Tebogo Macheke (Limpopo), Nobulomko Baneti (Border), Khayakaze Mathe (Border), Gabisile Nkosi (KZN - Inland)

- Compiled by Sport24 staff

More Edinburgh News

Access More

Sign up for Edinburgh News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!